March 23, 2023

Disha Shakti News

New Hopes New Visions

AAP wins four of the five wards in the bye-polls to Delhi Municipal Corporation

The Aam Aadmi Party on Wednesday won four of the five wards in the bye-polls to Delhi Municipal Corporation, reported The Indian Express. The Congress won the one remaining seat.
Voting was held in two wards – Rohini-C and Shalimar Bagh (North) – in the North Delhi Municipal Corporation, and three wards – Trilokpuri, Kalyanpuri and Chauhan Banger – in the East Delhi Municipal Corporation on February 28. The Shalimar Bagh (North) ward is reserved for women, and Trilokpuri and Kalyanpuri are reserved for the Scheduled Caste category.
AAP’s Dhirender Kumar won the Kalyanpuri ward by 7,259 votes. AAP’s candidate Sunita Mishra claimed the Shalimar Bagh (North). The party also won the Trilokpuri and the Rohini-C ward. Congress candidate Zubair Ahmad Chaudhary was declared the winner by 10,642 votes from Ward 041-E Chauhan Banger, according to ANI.
The voting was necessitated after AAP councillors in four wards became MLAs. In the fifth ward, the Bharatiya Janata Party councillor who held the Shalimar Bagh (North) seat had died.
Report by Chetali S M
Reported on – 03/03/2021

Share this News
error: Content is protected !!