June 2, 2023

Disha Shakti News

New Hopes New Visions

Former Mayor of Kolkata, Sovan Chatterjee, quits the party

Hours after the Bharatiya Janata Party released the second list of candidates for the upcoming West Bengal Assembly polls, Sovan Chatterjee, former Mayor of Kolkata quit the party. Sovan Chatterjee was denied a ticket from his traditional assembly seat of Behala East.
The rift between old-timers and newcomers in West Bengal BJP came out in the open as several aspirants voiced their anguish against the party and resigned after they were denied tickets for the assembly elections, while protests were held across the state. Chatterjee’s constituency for several decades, Behala Purba, was given to actor-turned- politician Payel Sarkar, who joined the party a few days back.
Addressing a press conference at the BJP headquarters in New Delhi, party general secretary Arun Singh along with Union ministers from West Bengal, Babul Supriyo and Debasree Chaudhuri, released the names of 63 candidates for the third and fourth phase of polls to be held on April 6 and 10.

Report by Chetali S M
Reported on – 14/03/2021

Share this News
error: Content is protected !!