March 26, 2023

Disha Shakti News

New Hopes New Visions

Virat Kohli nominated for ICC Player of The Decade award, Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni named in ODI category

Indian cricketers have ruled the nominations list for the upcoming ICC decade awards with skipper Virat Kohli appearing in 5 different categories.

Virat Kohli and Ravi Ashwin nominated for ICC Player of The Decade award
Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni are alongside Kohli in the ODI category
Virat Kohli has been nominated in 5 different categories of the awards
Team India captain Virat Kohli may or may not win the ICC Player of the Decade award but with 5 nominations it’s almost clear that he is. In the ICC decade awards, Kohli has featured in the topmost category and also in the ODI, T20I, Test player of the decade and also in the Spirit of cricket award category.
The biggest category- the ICC Player of the Decade award features two Indians Virat Kohli and Ravichandran Ashwin. This era is rightfully known as the era of the ‘Fab Four’ as Steve Smith, Kane Williamson, Joe Root and Kohli have been named in the nominations list of 7 cricketers. The two others to be named in the list are former South Africa captain and legendary batsman AB de Villiers and another thorough legend, Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara.

Here are the other categories:

ODI Player of the Decade: This category includes 3 Indians -Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni. Others are Lasith Malinga (SL), Mitchell Starc (AUS), AB de Villiers (SA), and Kumar Sangakkara (SL).
Virat Kohli, Joe Root, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, James Anderson (ENG), Rangana Herath (SL), and Yasir Shah (PAK) have been nominated for the Test Player of the Decade award.
Nominations for the Men’s T20I Player of the Decade include Rashid Khan (AFG), Kohli, Imran Tahir (SA), Aaron Finch (AUS), Malinga, Chris Gayle (WI), and Rohit Sharma (IND).
ICC Women’s Player of the Decade: Nominations include Ellyse Perry (AUS), Meg Lanning (AUS), Suzie Bates (NZ), Stafanie Taylor (WI), Mithali Raj (IND), Sarah Taylor (ENG).
For Women’s T20I Player of the Decade: Meg Lanning, Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Deandra Dottin, Alyssa Healy, and Anya Shrubsole have been nominated.
ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Decade: Meg Lanning, Ellyse Perry, Mithali Raj, Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Stafanie Taylor (WI), and Jhulan Goswami (IND).
ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade: Virat Kohli (IND), Kane Williamson (NZ), Brendon McCullum (NZ), Misbah-ul-Haq (PAK), MS Dhoni, Anya Shrubsole (ENG), Katherine Brunt (ENG), Mahela Jayawardene (SL), and Daniel Vettori (NZ) have been nominated.
All categories and nominations are up on the ICC website and the winners will be decided based on the number of votes a player receives.

Share this News
error: Content is protected !!